Gettin’ Goin’

It has been an excellent couple of weeks: a few days ago, I got a job as a freelance translator. I’ll be writing little English articles about big German companies, and someone will give me currency for that, which is extremely nice of them.
A rusty and creaking train of thought, one that departed an academic station in 2011 and had since wound across the long rough country of Rewrites and Research, pulled in at The Escapist Magazine yesterday. To my great surprise, people seemed okay with it being there, and no one was much bothered by the billowing smoke (read: hot air). Anyway, it was my first “real thing.” I’m happy with it.
In more concrete and thus more invigorating news, I met a bunch of game developers, an elite cadre operating under an ominous moniker:
They are without a doubt Good People, and I can’t wait to see more of them and their work. With a pronounced Community Outreach bent, PIGS has been making a difference all over town; in a couple weeks they’ll be hosting a game tournament for charity in an space-themed dive bar. It’s going to be good. Actually, they’re loosely affiliated with a chiptune show going on this evening — I’ll update with pictures once I have them.

Good, good, great. All great. Mostly, though, I just can’t believe this happened:

I just went to the bathroom and came back to four more clicks on my bitly link. This is the sort of thing that makes me happy.
Leave a Reply

